Monday, October 6, 2014

His


I am a Failure.
I am a Wife.
I am a Business Woman.
I am Bold.
I am Broken.
I am Lonely.
I am Strong.

The only person who has ever fought for me, will only fight with me now. After finally letting my walls crumble for a man, he has destroyed me from the inside out. I should have known that a broken bitch like me would never get a happily ever after. What did I expect?

But what he doesn’t realize is, I am not going to let him walk away so easily. He turned my world upside down, and now I will do the same to his. I just pray our daughter doesn’t become collateral damage. 

I am Seven James-Parker, and this is the second part to my story.  







Wednesday, October 1, 2014

He's So Fine


For Olivia Bentley, Lucky Harbor is more than the town where she runs her new vintage shop. It's the place where folks are friendly to strangers-and nobody knows her real name. Olivia does a good job of keeping her past buried, not getting too cozy with anyone . . . until she sees a man drowning. Suddenly she's rushing into the surf, getting up close and personal with the hottest guy she's ever laid hands on.

Charter boat captain Cole Donovan has no problem with a gorgeous woman throwing her arms around his neck in an effort to "save" him. In fact, he'd like to spend a lot more time skin-to-skin with Olivia. He's just not expecting that real trouble is about to come her way. Will it bring her deeper into Cole's heart, or will it be the end of Olivia's days in little Lucky Harbor?
   

Excerpt
“Dry off,” Cole said, and stepped back from Olivia.
She nodded but didn’t move.
“Olivia?” he asked.
Her face was a mask of misery. “M­m­my arms won’t w­w­work.”
Shit. He quickly and gently pushed her back down to the bench, sat at her side, and began to pile blankets over the top of them both.
“W­what are you d­doing?”
“Sharing my body heat,” he said.
“I c­c­can’t feel any h­h­heat.”
“You will.” Beneath the blankets, he reached for the towel she still had wrapped around her. “Don’t freak,” he warned. “I’m just going to remove the wet towel and pull you into me.”
She opened her mouth, but using her sluggishness to his benefit, Cole quicklystripped the towel away from her, wrapping his arms around her, pulling her into him as two things happened simultaneously. One, she squeaked. Probably trying to formulate her next threat.
And two—holy shit—he realized she was completely, totally, one hundred percent naked beneath the layer of blankets.
And pissed. “Y­y­your pants!” she gasped. “Th­th­they’re c­c­cold!”
“Sorry, but I’m trying to do the right thing here,” he said through clenched teeth. Jesus. He couldn’t see a thing below her neck, but he could sure as hell feel her. His hands were on her hip and low on her back, respectively, not touching anything he shouldn’t be, but damn she was soft, and at the feel of her, his brain clicked off. Just completely flatlined.
 
New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill's bestselling, award-winning books wherever romances are sold and visit her website for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.       
                     Links: Website Facebook Twitter Goodreads







Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Black Lies

Goodreads Amazon 
Black Lies
 
Brant:
Became a tech billionaire by his twentieth birthday. Has been in a relationship with me for 3 years.
Has proposed 4 times. Been rejected 4 times.

Lee:
Cuts grass when he’s not banging housewives. Good with his hands, his mouth, and his cock. Has been pursued relentlessly by me for almost 2 years, whether he knows it or not.
Go ahead. Judge me. You have no idea what my love entails.

If you think you’ve heard this story before, trust me – you haven’t.   


Review
****Patchwork Press, via NetGalley, provided me with a complimentary ARC of this book for an honest review****
Layana thought she had it all when she met Brant. Gorgeous, genius, successful, sweet, treats her like gold and is worth a standing ovation in bed, what's there to keep her from falling in love? So what if it's strange he's never been in a real relationship before. He's a successful billionaire that has made work his priority over women. So what if his aunt tries to buy her out of his life? She's obviously worried she has ulterior motives, and she's really just pretty miserable in general so that must be it. Eventually, all those instincts she pushed aside can not be ignored when she discovers that the secret Brant's been carrying since childhood may just destroy them all. Add a dirty mouthed landscaper that knows just how to use his hands, and Layana finds herself fighting for her future like she never imagined.

There was no joking when everyone says this is unlike anything you'll ever read. Short of rambling all the compliments I know I don't know how to do this book justice. I spent 80% of it with my heart in my throat, 20% of it smiling and not wanting to scream, and pretty much all of it falling in love, entertained, and while I'm being honest, turned on. Going in we're all warned this isn't a typical love triangle as the synopsis makes it seem. Without giving anything away, because knowing the major spoilers are not worth it before you pick this up so just say no, I can just repeat what I said before and everyone else is saying... this is NOT a typical story. No matter how good you are at predictions this one will still throw you to a degree. It's really all just brilliant. Even with all the drama about the secret I loved Brant. I thought Layana and he were perfect together, even if there were times I debated my active status on the team "Brayana" bandwagon. Thankfully by the end of the book I loved them both for what they were, beautifully complex and developed characters that came to life off the pages. The lengths they both went to were Romeo & Juliet level. My emotions were all over the place reading this. Once I started there was no way I could let go until I finished, I had to know. I loved Lee and how he tied into it all, even though I guess you're supposed to not really love him for the role he plays in it all. I've read other books by Alessandra Torre and she is a complete literary goddess. Even the most jaded readers will pick this up and be on the edge of their seats. I wish I could say more but there are just too many things I'd love to mention that I can't without spoilers so I'll just say pick this up, you won't regret it, and don't say I didn't warn you when you get no sleep!



Review by: 





Friday, September 19, 2014

Hale Maree

 
NEW ADULT CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE
NOT SUITABLE FOR YOUNG ADULT READERS
Hale Simmons’s life is already bottoming out and she’s only eighteen. Struggling on welfare, while trying to keep her alcoholic father on track, her dreams of having a better life fade a little more each day.
But, when her dad witnesses a brutal accident at the bar one night, it changes the entire course of Hale’s future.
Thrust into an arranged marriage
with Oscar Maree, the playboy son of a wealthy man, Hale must learn to trust a
stranger to give her the life she’s always wanted.
First, Hale needs to figure out if love can ever happen by accident.










Excerpt
Oscar puts the mug on the counter. I think he’s going to tell me I’m a spoiled brat, or that I don’t know a thing about how relationships work, or that I’m just plain impossible, but instead, he leans forward with one hand on the countertop before he says, “Done.”
My fingertips slip from the door handle.
“I would notice you, Hale,” he continues, “if you walked into a room behind a 500 pound lion that was charging straight at me. I would notice you if the room were full of naked women, and I was in deep conversation about my own death. I will always come running, I’ll eat the dinner, and wear the shirts and I’ve already thought that if you put on ten more pounds, it’d be a sure bet that I would never let you out of my bed. I’ve been trying to soak up every word you’ve said since the first time we spoke, so I think it’s only fair that you try just as hard to hear me now. I think you are perfect for me, Hale, and I’m just waiting for you to realize that I’m perfect for you too.”
It’s like the entire room disappears and all I see is Oscar with his level gaze. He drops his voice to a whisper as he says, “Come here.”
But I stay where I am, with the sun warming my back through the windows, and I shake my head at him.
“No,” I say. “Come running.” 




Misty Provencher is a long-term wife, mama, and author. The first two are a bit more recent, but Provencher's writing roots date back to the hieroglyphics she left in her mother's womb.

While Provencher can ride a motorcycle, knows how to Karate chop, and has learned enough French, Spanish, and Sign Language to get herself slapped, Misty's life is actually just the ruse she uses to connect with people. She is totally enchanted with them and spends her days trying to translate the soul bouquets of her muses into words.

Misty Provencher lives in the Mitten. Knock on her internet blog door at: Misty Provencher's Books, http://mistypro.blogspot.com/  or find her on Facebook and Twitter as Misty Provencher. 



Author links:


 

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Dancer's Heart

Goodreads  Amazon B&N Kobo 
 Dancer's Heart
 Simon Leander is living a lie. He hides the truth from his partner in a relationship he's determined to tolerate…jealousy, rants and all. Michael was supposed to be the love of his life and he's not ready to let go of that dream even though the romantic has turned tyrant.
Then Drew appears and a little at a time Simon's determination starts to waver. Drew is everything Michael used to be but isn't anymore. Drew also knows his secret.
When the truth about Simon's double life bursts into the light he must decide whether he can trust Drew and if love deserves a second chance. 

Review

****The author provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review****
This was a satisfying gay romance. It wasn't just a boy meets boy and lives happily ever after. This was a story of a man searching for that happily ever after, taking a disastrous step into an unhappy and unhealthy and getting his way out of it.
Simon thought that he had found the love of his life, but Michael ended up being a nightmare. Jealous unpredictable possessive tantrums really put a dampener on things. Insecurities in a relationship are everyone's worst nightmare.
I struggled with Simon's inability to quit this relationship. Nobody should accept abuse and for him to excuse it instead of moving forward frustrated and annoyed me. However, I know how we can all me blinded by love or the acquisition of love.
I liked the writing of this book though, I felt it flowed. Even though it was a shortish book, only 141 on my reader, it didn't feel rushed. Characters didn't seem flat but rather well developed as well.
All in all, I enjoyed this romance and I would read other books by this author. 



Review by:

Monday, September 15, 2014

Who We Were



Title: Who We Were
Author: Christy Sloat
Genre: YA, Contemporary Romance
Publication: September 15th, 2014


“Who we were had washed away with the summer. Who we are was yet to be seen.”

Summer school at Alcott High was only supposed to gain Sadie Peters extra credit, nothing more. Her goal wasn’t to make friends, or gain the attention of the most popular football player, yet she managed both. Her life was cruising along on course … until that summer.

Could a simple stint in a different school change her identity completely and introduce her to love for the first time? How would that affect her relationship with Lily, her best friend?

Hopefully their friendship was strong enough to make it through the tumultuous summer. Sadie learns that great things come with change, but sometimes memories of the past are hardest to part with.




Purchase:
Amazon 

--------------------------------------------------------

Excerpt

I entered the lunchroom and met Nash at the same table as yesterday. He gave me a huge smile, but that was all. No hug or kiss on the cheek. Okay, fine.
I set down my lunch tray that held pizza, an apple and an orange juice. Not exactly healthy, but I tried. Nash sat with me and ate his pizza, but he didn’t engage in conversation with me. Instead he sat and talked to Oliver and some other kid named Henry, who I learned played ball with them. I was secure enough to realize that Nash and I weren’t a couple; we were just getting to know each other. So, I would just need to cool it and not get upset by his ignoring me. I mean really, was he ignoring me on purpose or perhaps just busy with his guy friends? I chose the latter.
“Oh, you sit here too?” I looked up to see the shaggy haired boy sit across from me. I scowled at him and said, “I was invited to sit here. Why are you here?”
I dropped my pizza on my plate and realized I had an audience. All the boys at my table were now watching me engage in a fight with this rude ass across from me.
“Last I checked this was my team’s table. Is that okay with you or should I ask Nash for permission?” What a complete jerk-face!
“So I see you’ve met Nolan, my brother.” Nash laughed.
“Wait! What? This kid is your brother?” I asked confused.
Nolan laughed and said, “The one and only Nolan Rylan at your service. Twin brother of the oh-so-fabulous Nash Rylan. And before you say, ‘But you don’t look like him,’ it’s because we’re not identical twins.”
I found myself with my mouth hanging open and closed it quickly. I couldn’t believe it. Nash had a twin brother. The more I stared at Nolan, the more I noticed slight similarities in their appearance. Nash had dark hair and so did Nolan. Their smiles were the same, big white teeth grins.
Their eye color wasn’t the same though. Nash’s were crystal blue and Nolan’s were honey brown. Nash dressed casual like his personality, easy going. Nolan was crisp and clean. And from his personality, it didn’t seem to match. He really threw me when he put on his glasses and pulled out our homework assignment right there at the table. He leaned back, ignoring me with ease, and read. I couldn’t help but stare at him. He wasn’t a football player. No way.
“You play football?” I inquired. He looked up from his book, and I felt a strange sensation. The other guys went back to talking and ignoring me.
“Why is that hard to believe? Do I look like a nerd to you?”
I looked at his body. No, not really. He was fit enough, but he was slightly nerdy. Between his well-manicured nails to his brown high end shoes, it was hard to picture him in a football uniform.
“You just dress so … so,” I struggled.
“So, nicely perhaps? Not like a jock, I know. But thanks for noticing.” He pulled his book higher and did as the other boys did, ignored me.
   

--------------------------------------------------------

About the Author


Christy Sloat is a SoCal born girl who resides in New Jersey currently with her husband, two daughters and Sophie her Chihuahua. Christy has embraced the love of reading and writing since her youth and was inspired by her grandmother's loving support. Christy passes that love of reading, writing, and creativity to her daughters, family, and friends. When you do not find Christy within the pages of a book you can find her being mommy, wife, crafter, and dear friend. She loves adventurous journeys with her friends and can be known to get lost inside a bookstore. Be sure to venture into her Past Lives Series, The Visitor's Series, and watch for many more exciting things to come.


--------------------------------------------------------

Giveaway


a Rafflecopter giveaway



Wednesday, September 10, 2014

Rock Addiction


RELEASE DATE: September 9th, 2014

A bad boy wrapped in a sexy, muscled, grown-up package might be worth a little risk…
Molly Webster has always followed the rules. After an ugly scandal tore apart her childhood and made her the focus of the media’s harsh spotlight, she vowed to live an ordinary life. No fame. No impropriety. No pain. Then she meets Zachary Fox, a tattooed bad boy rocker with a voice like whiskey and sin, and a touch that could become an addiction.
A one-night stand with the hottest rock star on the planet, that’s all it was meant to be…
Fox promises scorching heat and dangerous pleasure, coaxing Molly to extend their one-night stand into a one-month fling. After that, he’ll be gone forever, his life never again intersecting with her own. Sex and sin and sensual indulgence, all with an expiration date. No ties, no regrets. Too late, Molly realizes it isn’t only her body that’s become addicted to Fox, but her heart…



NEW YORK TIMES AND USA Today bestselling author of the Psy-Changeling and Guild Hunter series Nalini Singh usually writes about hot shapeshifters and dangerous angels. This time around, she decided to write about a hot and wickedly tempting rock star. If you’re seeing a theme here, you’re not wrong.

Nalini lives and works in beautiful New Zealand, and is passionate about writing. If you’d like to explore her other books, you can find lots of excerpts on her website. Slave to Sensation is the first book in the Psy-Changeling series, while Angels’ Blood is the first book in the Guild Hunter series. Once Rock Addiction is out, swing by the site to check out the special behind-the-scenes page, complete with photos of many of the locations used in the book.

STALK HER:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads