Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Taken, Not Spurred (Lone Star Burn #1)

 Taken, Not Spurred 
 1/2
 Would-be writer Sarah Dery has just turned twenty-five and feels like her life is on hold. She's done squat with her English degree and is just killing time working for her parents. So, when the opportunity to spend the summer working on a ranch in Texas comes her way, she jumps at the chance, figuring it might be just the jolt she needs to get her creative juices flowing.
Tony Carlton is a handsome and reclusive horse trainer with a tortured past and an eye for trouble, this time in the form of a naked blonde stranger he finds in his shower.
The wrong turn that led Sarah into the arms of this sexy, brooding cowboy turns out to be just what she needed to find her steamy inner voice, but will their connection be enough to break down Tony's defenses? 

Review
****Montlake Romance, via NetGalley, provided me with a complimentary ARC of this book for my honest opinion****
Sarah Dery has decided she's done hiding in past regrets. Now 25, she's ready to pursue her career as a writer, but her voice remains stubbornly silent. When summer rolls around, she decides to take a break from it all. Punishing herself for the past, working for her parents in a career she has no passion for, she's ready to throw it all to the side and try to discover what it's like to truly live her life. What better option than to hitch her trailer, load herself and her horse Scooter, and take a road trip to spend the summer at her friend Lucy's Texas ranch? What she ends up discovering is there is in fact more than Double C ranch in Texas, and the short-tempered, hot as sin cowboy who discovers her in his shower may be the answer to her dried up writing inspiration. If she can just keep her heart from joining the party, she may just survive the summer.
Taken, Not Spurred is a fun roller coaster romance that's filled to the brim with multi-layered characters, ping ponging emotions, and lines that bring a smile to your face. Sarah made me instantly fall in love with her sarcasm. She's relatable even if she is naïve, her inner dialog had me laughing from the first chapter. Tony Carlton is a damaged roguish main character that will break your heart. Together they somehow form a fantastic pair that you want to see survive and thrive through all the struggle. There is instant chemistry between the two. I don't know if this series will continue or we will get other character's stories but they were certainly intriguing enough to make me read their story if it does. There were some things that were brought up, but never addressed, leaving me to assume more will be told, but time till tell. While having a level of emotion and commitment, the story was light enough that it didn't leave you with an emotional hangover while still leaving you aware. Really a fun book overall and one I'm glad I picked up.

Monday, November 17, 2014

Night Fever

Night Fever (Night Fever, #1)  
 
Lola’s heart already belongs to Johnny, but for him, she’d sell the devil her soul. Unfortunately, the devil wants something else.
Beau Olivier is the kind of wealthy that buys anything—even people. When he makes Lola Winters a proposition, she finds herself tempted into a seduction that will have her walking the line between comfort and humiliation, desire and resistance. He would own her—for one night. She would be his—for a price. It was wrong. It was scandalous. It was the opportunity of a lifetime.
Sex, music, neon on the Sunset Strip—right in the middle of it all, he would have her. Come sunrise, he would let her go. At least, that was the plan.
Night Fever is the first novella in the erotic romance Night Fever Serial. All three parts release November 2014. Reader discretion is advised due to mature themes intended for an 18+ audience. 51,000 words. 

Review
****Jessica Hawkins, via NetGalley, provided me with a complimentary ARC of this book for my honest review****
Lola has always loved Johnny. Since he saved her from herself years before she's been happy watching him tend bar at Hey Joe while she serves drinks. Things aren't always easy, but they're happy and they both know dreams don't come true without work. All that comes crashing down when Beau Olivier comes into the bar. Lola can't deny the instant attractive, but she's not a cheater and she knows without a doubt that Johnny is her future. So why can't she seem to shake the pull she has to this man? When he offers them their dream, own Hey Joe in exchange for one night with Lola, she finds herself in a situation she never saw coming. One night is all she has to make it through, but one night may just be enough to destroy her.
There was something so addicting about this book that the minute I finished it I had to grab the next, and happened to get lucky it was just released. Lola is flawed but loyal. She has her past like everyone else, but she refuses to let it define her, with Johnny's help. Beau provides a crack in that armor that makes her reevaluate everything she thought she knew and wanted. The two are volatile, passionate, and irresistible together. The chemistry almost instant. Thoroughly developed, even in a short time, both characters crawl into the reader's mind and refuse to let go. They both have secrets that I feel we've just grazed the top of, I can't wait to see how it all ends! The writing flies by and you turn the last page before you realize it, begging for the next.

Saturday, November 15, 2014

The Fire of Home

Goodreads Amazon Alibris icon
The Fire of Home (Powell Springs, #3)

A scandalous homecoming...
When Amy Layton’s family learned she planned to steal her sister’s fiancé, Amy left home in disgrace. But in 1922, she returns to Powell Springs to escape the violent man she married. Despite the town’s gossip, Amy is determined to rebuild her shattered life with the boardinghouse she inherited…and little else.
A terrible secret...
Deputy sheriff Baxter Duncan senses there’s more to Amy, his new landlady, than the rumors claim. Yet Bax respects her privacy. After all, a painful secret haunts him, too. And now that he’s found a future in Powell Springs, he refuses to let his dark and wretched past destroy everything he’s built.
A redemptive journey...
As Amy struggles to make amends with her family, she finds a kindred spirit in Bax. But just as they begin to trust each other, a new visitor arrives in town—and this person knows enough to ruin them both. After so much pain, can Amy and Bax still fight for their dreams…and win? 


Review
****Montlake Romance, via NetGalley, provided me with a complimentary ARC of this book for an honest review***
Everyone has a past. Sometimes it's full of laughter and joy, and sometimes it's full of things you wish you could take back. Amy Layton knows all about past regrets, she left home to elope with a man who didn't have her heart, to run from the family and friends she hurt with her selfishness. She's spent the last few years living with the consequences of her actions and hiding the bruises of a man who said all the right things in the beginning. When she has no choice but to return to Powell Springs she learns just what it's like to be from a small town that never forgets your sins, but this may be they only second chance she ever gets.
Baxter Duncan has made a new life for himself in a new town. His past is behind him and his dreams of the future are becoming possible again. One run in with an infuriating woman when he's trying to be neighborly throws his whole world on it's axis and he finds his past coming crashing into his present in the town he hoped to call home for good. The only thing that may save them both is each other.
This story had me feeling so many things and even a little teary-eyed as early as 14%. I love the feeling of when a book stays with you, and The Fire of Home certainly did. The writing was engaging. The transfer between point of views was clear but smooth and easy to read. The writing addicting and seemingly flawless brought to life a world that I felt instantly transported to. It was a little more innocent than what I normally read, but the chemistry and buffet of emotions kept me coming back for more. This was the story of people with a rich history of heartbreak and pain. I loved every detail of it and wouldn't have minded if it were longer.
  


Post by:

Monday, October 6, 2014

His


I am a Failure.
I am a Wife.
I am a Business Woman.
I am Bold.
I am Broken.
I am Lonely.
I am Strong.

The only person who has ever fought for me, will only fight with me now. After finally letting my walls crumble for a man, he has destroyed me from the inside out. I should have known that a broken bitch like me would never get a happily ever after. What did I expect?

But what he doesn’t realize is, I am not going to let him walk away so easily. He turned my world upside down, and now I will do the same to his. I just pray our daughter doesn’t become collateral damage. 

I am Seven James-Parker, and this is the second part to my story.  







Wednesday, October 1, 2014

He's So Fine


For Olivia Bentley, Lucky Harbor is more than the town where she runs her new vintage shop. It's the place where folks are friendly to strangers-and nobody knows her real name. Olivia does a good job of keeping her past buried, not getting too cozy with anyone . . . until she sees a man drowning. Suddenly she's rushing into the surf, getting up close and personal with the hottest guy she's ever laid hands on.

Charter boat captain Cole Donovan has no problem with a gorgeous woman throwing her arms around his neck in an effort to "save" him. In fact, he'd like to spend a lot more time skin-to-skin with Olivia. He's just not expecting that real trouble is about to come her way. Will it bring her deeper into Cole's heart, or will it be the end of Olivia's days in little Lucky Harbor?
   

Excerpt
“Dry off,” Cole said, and stepped back from Olivia.
She nodded but didn’t move.
“Olivia?” he asked.
Her face was a mask of misery. “M­m­my arms won’t w­w­work.”
Shit. He quickly and gently pushed her back down to the bench, sat at her side, and began to pile blankets over the top of them both.
“W­what are you d­doing?”
“Sharing my body heat,” he said.
“I c­c­can’t feel any h­h­heat.”
“You will.” Beneath the blankets, he reached for the towel she still had wrapped around her. “Don’t freak,” he warned. “I’m just going to remove the wet towel and pull you into me.”
She opened her mouth, but using her sluggishness to his benefit, Cole quicklystripped the towel away from her, wrapping his arms around her, pulling her into him as two things happened simultaneously. One, she squeaked. Probably trying to formulate her next threat.
And two—holy shit—he realized she was completely, totally, one hundred percent naked beneath the layer of blankets.
And pissed. “Y­y­your pants!” she gasped. “Th­th­they’re c­c­cold!”
“Sorry, but I’m trying to do the right thing here,” he said through clenched teeth. Jesus. He couldn’t see a thing below her neck, but he could sure as hell feel her. His hands were on her hip and low on her back, respectively, not touching anything he shouldn’t be, but damn she was soft, and at the feel of her, his brain clicked off. Just completely flatlined.
 
New York Times bestselling author Jill Shalvis lives in a small town in the Sierras full of quirky characters. Any resemblance to the quirky characters in her books is, um, mostly coincidental. Look for Jill's bestselling, award-winning books wherever romances are sold and visit her website for a complete book list and daily blog detailing her city-girl-living-in-the-mountains adventures.       
                     Links: Website Facebook Twitter Goodreads







Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Black Lies

Goodreads Amazon 
Black Lies
 
Brant:
Became a tech billionaire by his twentieth birthday. Has been in a relationship with me for 3 years.
Has proposed 4 times. Been rejected 4 times.

Lee:
Cuts grass when he’s not banging housewives. Good with his hands, his mouth, and his cock. Has been pursued relentlessly by me for almost 2 years, whether he knows it or not.
Go ahead. Judge me. You have no idea what my love entails.

If you think you’ve heard this story before, trust me – you haven’t.   


Review
****Patchwork Press, via NetGalley, provided me with a complimentary ARC of this book for an honest review****
Layana thought she had it all when she met Brant. Gorgeous, genius, successful, sweet, treats her like gold and is worth a standing ovation in bed, what's there to keep her from falling in love? So what if it's strange he's never been in a real relationship before. He's a successful billionaire that has made work his priority over women. So what if his aunt tries to buy her out of his life? She's obviously worried she has ulterior motives, and she's really just pretty miserable in general so that must be it. Eventually, all those instincts she pushed aside can not be ignored when she discovers that the secret Brant's been carrying since childhood may just destroy them all. Add a dirty mouthed landscaper that knows just how to use his hands, and Layana finds herself fighting for her future like she never imagined.

There was no joking when everyone says this is unlike anything you'll ever read. Short of rambling all the compliments I know I don't know how to do this book justice. I spent 80% of it with my heart in my throat, 20% of it smiling and not wanting to scream, and pretty much all of it falling in love, entertained, and while I'm being honest, turned on. Going in we're all warned this isn't a typical love triangle as the synopsis makes it seem. Without giving anything away, because knowing the major spoilers are not worth it before you pick this up so just say no, I can just repeat what I said before and everyone else is saying... this is NOT a typical story. No matter how good you are at predictions this one will still throw you to a degree. It's really all just brilliant. Even with all the drama about the secret I loved Brant. I thought Layana and he were perfect together, even if there were times I debated my active status on the team "Brayana" bandwagon. Thankfully by the end of the book I loved them both for what they were, beautifully complex and developed characters that came to life off the pages. The lengths they both went to were Romeo & Juliet level. My emotions were all over the place reading this. Once I started there was no way I could let go until I finished, I had to know. I loved Lee and how he tied into it all, even though I guess you're supposed to not really love him for the role he plays in it all. I've read other books by Alessandra Torre and she is a complete literary goddess. Even the most jaded readers will pick this up and be on the edge of their seats. I wish I could say more but there are just too many things I'd love to mention that I can't without spoilers so I'll just say pick this up, you won't regret it, and don't say I didn't warn you when you get no sleep!



Review by: 





Friday, September 19, 2014

Hale Maree

 
NEW ADULT CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE
NOT SUITABLE FOR YOUNG ADULT READERS
Hale Simmons’s life is already bottoming out and she’s only eighteen. Struggling on welfare, while trying to keep her alcoholic father on track, her dreams of having a better life fade a little more each day.
But, when her dad witnesses a brutal accident at the bar one night, it changes the entire course of Hale’s future.
Thrust into an arranged marriage
with Oscar Maree, the playboy son of a wealthy man, Hale must learn to trust a
stranger to give her the life she’s always wanted.
First, Hale needs to figure out if love can ever happen by accident.










Excerpt
Oscar puts the mug on the counter. I think he’s going to tell me I’m a spoiled brat, or that I don’t know a thing about how relationships work, or that I’m just plain impossible, but instead, he leans forward with one hand on the countertop before he says, “Done.”
My fingertips slip from the door handle.
“I would notice you, Hale,” he continues, “if you walked into a room behind a 500 pound lion that was charging straight at me. I would notice you if the room were full of naked women, and I was in deep conversation about my own death. I will always come running, I’ll eat the dinner, and wear the shirts and I’ve already thought that if you put on ten more pounds, it’d be a sure bet that I would never let you out of my bed. I’ve been trying to soak up every word you’ve said since the first time we spoke, so I think it’s only fair that you try just as hard to hear me now. I think you are perfect for me, Hale, and I’m just waiting for you to realize that I’m perfect for you too.”
It’s like the entire room disappears and all I see is Oscar with his level gaze. He drops his voice to a whisper as he says, “Come here.”
But I stay where I am, with the sun warming my back through the windows, and I shake my head at him.
“No,” I say. “Come running.” 




Misty Provencher is a long-term wife, mama, and author. The first two are a bit more recent, but Provencher's writing roots date back to the hieroglyphics she left in her mother's womb.

While Provencher can ride a motorcycle, knows how to Karate chop, and has learned enough French, Spanish, and Sign Language to get herself slapped, Misty's life is actually just the ruse she uses to connect with people. She is totally enchanted with them and spends her days trying to translate the soul bouquets of her muses into words.

Misty Provencher lives in the Mitten. Knock on her internet blog door at: Misty Provencher's Books, http://mistypro.blogspot.com/  or find her on Facebook and Twitter as Misty Provencher. 



Author links: