Sunday, August 16, 2015

Drawing the Devil

Amazon Kobo icon Alibris

Drawing the Devilicon 
 
 A heart can live a lifetime in eight seconds.

Ever since his father caught him with another boy and threw him out at the tender age of sixteen, Dustin Lewis has been fighting his way up the national bull-riding rankings. He’s on the brink of qualifying for the National Finals when he draws Diablo, a notoriously rank bull—and the ride goes bad.
When bullfighter Shane Rees frees Dustin from the rigging of the same bull that nearly destroyed his face, he comes dangerously close to dropping his guard. Shane knows the potential consequences of being gay in a sport loaded with testosterone-overdosed cowboys, and the resulting scars of mind and body have left him with little self-worth.
Their near-death-by-bull first meeting sparks an attraction that awakens every last one of their personal demons. Yet as the National Finals draws closer, so do they. But they’ll have to overcome emotional highs, near-tragic lows, and bone-crushing danger before love can bust out of the chute.
 
Warning: Contains man-on-man boot knocking, rawhide and raw emotions, badass cowboys and even badder-ass bulls. This ain’t your old man’s rodeo. 

Review

****Samhain Publishing via NetGalley provided me with a complimentary copy for my honest review****
  
Shane Rees has his demons. The scars on his face and body have nothing on the inner turmoil of feeling like you'll never be accepted for who you are. Being gay in the world of rodeo feels like a death sentence to one of the few things he enjoys anymore. Being a bullfighter is the one thing he still has confidence in, he certainly has none left in himself. His self depreciating devil on his shoulder says that a young, handsome bull rider like Dustin Lewis could never look at him with more than disgust or as a quick way to find relief. Shane is used to cowboys using him for their own needs before shoving him out in the cold. When Dustin admits attraction to Shane, he thinks it must be just another cruel joke.
Dustin doesn't understand how Shane can't see how gorgeous he is, inside and out. He understands rejection being thrown out at 16 when his father discovered he was gay, added to the ADHD, he fights his own issues with acceptance. He finds something in Shane that leaves him addicted to more than just his body but until they both find acceptance the sparks may just be left to burn out.
I have a lot of mixed emotions about this book. I felt the most connection to Shane through it all though I can't say either left a lasting impression. It was an easy read that was worth the time but I felt like both characters had some reality to come to terms with and some growing up to do. Some of the dialogue made me sigh but the quality of writing wasn't at fault. I didn't quite feel the romance between Dustin and Shane and that may have been what kept me from really getting into it. No cliffhanger and worth a read if you love to read cowboy M/M, but don't go into it looking for a deep story. I would, however, read another book by this author. 
 
 
 
 
 

Saturday, August 15, 2015

King's

Amazon Kobo icon Alibris 

King's (The King Trilogy, #1)  
  
“I am the man who can find anything or anyone. For a price. And my price is you.”

When Mia Turner’s brother goes missing in Mexico, while on an archaeological dig, she believes that life couldn’t get much worse. But when she’s blocked at every turn from finding answers, by both local and U.S. authorities, she must turn to a man she swears is the devil.

Others might be fooled by his private jet, fine tailored suits, and disarming smile, but Mia knows something dark, sinister, and unnatural lurks behind those penetrating, pale-gray eyes. And the more she learns, the more she realizes she may never be free again.

Review

****The author via NetGalley provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review****
Mia Turner thinks she's willing to do anything to get her brother back, but is she willing to get in bed with the devil?

King's was just what I need at a time where everything was starting to feel like it fell into neat categories and I was frankly getting burnt out. Mimi Jean Pamfiloff's refreshing story and air of mystery brings to mind other great story tellers like Karen Marie Moning. The tension arches between Mia and King as we weave through her journey to bring her brother home and watch her hit road block after road block. Mia is a strong protagonist that doesn't easily bow to King no matter how far his power reaches, although at times her lack of agreement could be found frustrating. King is alpha without trying too hard, after this book I still have no real clue who or what he is. All I know is that the author has left a trail of delicious bread crumbs that I intended to follow. The book had you wanting to instantly learn his secrets and there was no way I could have ended at book 1, I finished the whole series in two days.


 

icon

Friday, August 14, 2015

Darkhouse ( Experiment in Terror #1)

Amazon Alibris 

11356211
  
There’s always been something a bit off about Perry Palomino. Though she’s been dealing with a quarter-life crisis and post-college syndrome like any other twenty something, she’s still not what you would call “ordinary.” For one thing, there’s her past which she likes to pretend never happened, and then there’s the fact that she sees ghosts. Luckily for her, that all comes in handy when she stumbles across Dex Foray, an eccentric producer for an upcoming webcast on ghost hunters. Even though the show’s budget is non-existent and Dex himself is a maddening enigma, Perry is instantly drawn into a world that both threatens her life and seduces her with a sense of importance. Her uncle’s haunted lighthouse provides the perfect catalyst and backdrop for a horrific mystery that unravels the threads of Perry’s fragile sanity and causes her to fall for a man, who, like the most dangerous of ghosts, may not be all that he seems

Review

Over the last few years I have heard many good things about this author and about this series. It has a very strong following. I am slow to jump on bandwagons but I have to admit that my curiosity was pricked and I finally folded and bought the first in the series.
I have to admit that this book begins slowly. There were quite a few times that I was wondering what all the fuss was about. However I had to remind myself, and you if do read the book yourself, that this is a fairly common thing in first books of a series. There is a lot of character building, background information etc. These are all good things, it builds your attachment to the characters, gets your interest, makes the book less shallow,so I pushed through ( I advise you do the same).
Perry Palomino is an interesting character, a little bit emo/grungy, I liked her style, her inner thought process, which seemed typical for a 22 year old who has been looked at funny her whole life for "seeing dead people". She was realistic and relate-able.I am quite attracted to characters like this, ghosts are my thing, my weakness. If there is a ghostly essence to a book/series I am there!
Any who, so Perry is sensitive to those pesky spirits around her and it seems to have gotten her into a bit of trouble over the years.She is a little bit of a loner. This leads her to a lonely midnight stroll at her uncles house where she walks smack bang into Dex Foray, another weird type character. The things we learn about Dex are few and far between in this book, in fact I was getting really frustrated by his "bipolar" type personality changes. I just couldn't get a feeling about him at all. I was once again told to prevail. Comments like "this is the slowest book in a great series" were said to me. I continued on.
These two together made an interesting pair. I am not sure how their dynamic will change over the series,however there seemed to be a small about of chemistry there. Maybe that will be built upon? The way that they are diving into this supernatural web show was interesting too. Even if the show is not successful it seems that these two are being guided by a mysterious ghostly old lady. Her appearances and clues are what has made me want to read the next book, in fact I have already bought it. I now simply must know about Dex and his past. I also want the ghostly details,plus, who the hell is that ghostly lady? lol
The creepy factor in this book was moderate. I wouldn't really say it was scary. But I am hopeful for some goose-bumpy reading in the next installment.
I have only rated this book a 3 out of 5 stars, this is purely due to the slowness of the story to get to some action. However I will be reading on and from what I have heard I will be rating the next books higher.

Thursday, August 13, 2015

Love, Succumb

Amazon Kobo icon

Love, Succumb (Obsessed Men, #1) 
 
Two souls …
Destined to be together
But just can’t be …
Eve’s life is going well -A job she enjoys, friends she loves, and a boyfriend who loves her and is dedicated to helping her achieve her end goal: Revenge.
Rene Ackerley happens.
A brilliant, beautiful man who has the world at the tip of his fingers. Money, Power, Respect, he has it all.
At thirty, he is the leader of a world-wide syndicate so powerful that its existence is almost legendary.
He is also the leader of the very men who took everything away from Eve.
The instant their eyes fall on each other, obsession becomes as real as the air they breathe.
They crave each other like drugs. They can’t bear to be apart.
But there is Bash. The man who has been in love with Eve since he was a young boy. She is all he knows. He will rather die or kill than be without her…

Review   

I had a few issues with this book. Unfortunately it ticked off some of my worst pet peeves.
Let me explain.
Character consistency. I like my characters to feel like they are a real person. Someone that I can relate to and understand.
I had trouble doing this with Rene and Eve. They chopped and changed throughout the book leaving my head spinning some times as to what exactly was going on and whether I was still reading the book from that particular persons point of view.
However I did like how we did get the different point of view perspectives.
Proof Reading. My spelling and sentences are atrocious so this is not me being nit picky or judgmental, however I felt that this book could have done with being proofread a little bit better.
Sometimes a completely wrong word was put into a sentence.
Now it could be because we seem to get thrown into the book at the "end"? and then brought back to the present but I loved the way the book started. Right in there guns a blazing, sexy over the top domineering sexy man Rene, teasing poor Eve. It is what kept me reading the book.I wanted to get to that part of the book, where both personalities had gotten to that stage in there relationship.
The stuff leading up to that ( which is the rest of the first book) is a bit stunted and I was confused as to what was actually going on. Now this could be because this seems to be a part book, so we are supposed to have questions and thus want to read the next installment. However I will say that I was just a bit miffed by this stage. The characters seemed to have gone through a lot of personality changes,already so far, yet I cannot understand what is driving them. Why does Eve have so much hate for Rene at the beginning? Why when she is supposed to be so happy ( book blurb) is she really quite miserable ( mother hate, sister who died, boyfriend, but is he?) I feel we got a lot more clear information in the blurb, but it didn't translate into the book. See! I have so many questions.
Finally, we end on a cliffhanger! Grrrr, why!
Now I have done a lot of complaining here, I am so sorry, I am not meaning to be mean. I just think this book could have been better if things were slowed down a bit, there was more solid character building and background story explanation. After all the story was interesting if only we got a bit more to whet our appetites so to speak.


 

Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Forced To Remember

Forced to Remember v2


The weight of the world feels heavy on my shoulders. Desperation touches everything. Memories forgotten, truths untold. Humanity is threatened. Their safety granted in exchange for me. But I won’t go without a fight.With strange occurrences taking place in the city, it’s up to Elsa and her team to discover why. But an odd encounter at an abandoned warehouse leaves the team with more questions than answers. Just when the team least expects it, Alexander returns, and he’s not alone or without demands: the world’s safety in exchange for Elsa. They have only one week to decide while the world falls under Alexander’s wrath and his powerful army of followers. Avalon seeks help from every Nepherium that can be spared and hope it will be enough to stop Alexander.

   

Coming July 2015!

             

About the Author


IMG_3836.32


A Kansas native, Samantha LaFantasie spends her free time with her three kids and arguing with her characters. Writing has always been a passion of hers, forgoing all other desires to devote to this one obsession. She’s primarily a fantasy writer but often feels pulled to genres such as sci-fi, romance, and others. Samantha became a bestselling author with the Pandora Boxed Set (which includes Made to Forget: Nepherium Novella series--Part One) on both Amazon and USA Today. Samantha loves to take time to enjoy other activities such as photography and playing her favorite game of all time, Guild Wars 2. Want more from Samantha? Keep up with her at any of her digital hangouts.

Saturday, May 2, 2015

I Still Love You

I Still Love You (Banner) Jane Lark
I Still Love You_eBook 
Title: I Still Love You
Author: Jane Lark
Genre: New Adult  Romance 18+
Publication Date: April 30, 2015
Publisher: HarperCollins
Imprint: HarpersImpulse
Price: USD FREE
ISBN: 9780008144036
Buy the Book HarperCollins | Amazon US | Amazon UK |Barnes and Noble | Kobo


~ Synopsis ~
Jason watched his new wife, Rachel, wishing he could make her laugh like she used to. She's making him up like a zombie for Halloween but she's the one acting like a zombie lately. This past year has been a rollercoaster ride for the young couple, but now suddenly the ride's stopped and Jason isn't ready to get off. He wants his Rachel back, but seeing as his Rachel is hurting because she's sick, does it really even matter what he wants


Rachel hates the sadness in her husband's eyes. It doesn't feel like he loves her anymore. But then who could love an emotional cripple like her? She's dragging him down, but knowing it doesn't mean she can control her illness any more than he can.

I Still Love You Collage Free Read

About the Author

Jane_Lark_New_Adult_Author Photo

Jane is a writer of authentic, passionate and emotional Historical and New Adult Romances.
She began her first novel at sixteen, but a life full of difficulty derailed her as she lives with the restrictions of Ankylosing Spondylitis.

When she finally completed a novel it was because she was determined to be able to say I’m a writer.
Now Jane is thrilled to be giving her characters life in others’ imaginations at last.Jane is also a Chartered Member of the Institute of Personnel and Development, and uses her knowledge of psychology to bring her characters to life.
‘Basically I’m a sucker for a love story. I love the feeling of falling in love and it’s wonderful to be able to do it time and time again in fiction, plus my understanding of people helps me write the really intense relationships I enjoy creating.’

Connect with the Author:  Website | Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest



Tour-Wide Giveaway:  
Signed book I Found You

Friday, May 1, 2015

Red Nights





I’m Felicity Stone, a twenty-five-year-old with my whole life ahead of me. Well, until recently.

I didn’t do it. Why would they think I did? Why would I want my twin brother dead? Why is everyone looking at me like I’m a criminal?

Well, everyone except him… Hayes Peyton, the charmingly beautiful stranger I met in the park at midnight—a totally legitimate place to meet the man of my dreams. Plus, he knows I’m innocent.

Believing him is easy. So very easy. Maybe too easy?

But when you hear things like: ‘All good is laced with some bad, and everything you think is the truth—is nothing more than a blatant lie,’ it makes you question reality.

In Shari J. Ryan’s latest Romantic Suspense, Red Nights, you wonder how dark your world can get before all you see is red.







Shari J. Ryan is an Amazon Top 100 Bestselling author, a Barnes & Noble Top 10 Bestselling author, and an iBookstore #1 Bestselling author. She hails from Central Massachusetts where she lives with her husband and two lively little boys. Shari has always had an active imagination and enjoys losing herself in the fictional worlds she creates. When Shari isn’t writing, she can usually be found cleaning toys up off the floor.

To learn more, visit her at, www.sharijryan.com.

Saturday, January 31, 2015

Three Nights with a Rockstar

Three Nights with a Rock Star (Half-Life, #1) 
 1/2
When Hailey crashes a Half-Life after party, she expects to find the bastard who knocked up her little sister. Instead she meets the sexy front-man who agrees to give her access to his crew if she gives him access to her body.
All Lock demands in return is three days of complete control over the Sunday School teacher. With a contract, because he’s been burned before. One misstep could send the band—and his tenuous sobriety—up in flames.
Hailey and Lock push each other’s limits… Against the penthouse window. Backstage. In the limo and on the elevator. But as the contract counts down, neither are ready for the party to end. 

Review

**** Aspendawn Books, via NetGalley, provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for an honest review****
Hailey has always been the responsible one, the good girl. Raising and providing for her sister Chloe when their mother proved they didn't matter to her. Internally fighting to never resemble her, Hailey keeps herself tightly under wraps and never explores any desire she may find deep inside. All that changes when Chloe returns from traveling with the band Half- Life and confesses she's pregnant but the father isn't in a good place right now to be just that, a father. Hailey won't take that for an answer when both they both know what it's like to grow up with missing fathers. The problem is Chloe isn't giving up his name. With an inadequate plan Hailey decides to infiltrate the band and find the father herself. Going straight to the man in charge she heads to the hotel to find Lock. The scene that greets her proves she is way out of her league. However, among the passed out and plant fertilizing men she finds her redemption in a drop dead gorgeous man who thankfully, appears to be sober. As luck would have it he happens to be just the man she was looking for. What she wasn't planning on was finding herself in a contract to spend the next three days in his bed. So what happens when Hailey lets herself break free from her good girl shell and enjoy life? She just might be risking it all.
Three Nights with a Rockstar was a fast paced and sexy ride. There was adventure but nothing over the top outrageous to try to get the reader's attention, just honest good writing with great characters. It was almost like watching a really personal documentary or reading a biography, the world of rock & roll brought to life through the words on each page.
I was hoping for a good book but what I wasn't expecting is to get hooked on the main couple and a few supporting characters so quickly. Lock, Hailey, Krist, Chloe and a few others had me reading until the early morning hours, Lock specifically. Sure, this isn't my first tattooed sex & music god I've read but there was something about him that stayed with me. He was delicious yes, there of course is that. More so he carried a level of dominance and swagger but broke down his walls with Hailey and there was a deep connection in that vulnerability. A real person, not just everyone's persona of a fantasy. I was worried when I discovered how much of a good girl Hailey was. *Cue the look of horror thinking I was reading another blushing "virgin".* Thankfully once the cardigan came off she became a confident women who wasn't afraid to enjoy what she wanted. As excited as I am for Krist's book I'm almost sad that I can't selfishly have several books with the two of them.
I was actually a little surprised that TNwaR was written by two authors. The chapters flow so smoothly. It's descriptive but not excessive. Imaginative but not outrageous. Just the right mix to get lost in your fantasy but not get vertigo when you finish the last page.
This is a series that I will be marking release dates in my calendar and stalking the author's facebooks for!  


Post by:

icon

Friday, January 30, 2015

Follow (Social Media #1)

Follow (Social Media, #1) 
1/2
 #Women.
I fuck them. I use them. I pay them off. I find another. My demands are never denied. My contracts are always signed. They submit to me. Willingly. Completely. Temporarily. This is how it's always been.
Until I saw that filthy tweet.
@VaughnAsher My bare pussy. Your tongue. #ThingsIThinkAboutToGetOff
"FilthyBlueBird" thinks she can tease me with hashtags and then hide behind a Twitter handle? She thinks I wouldn't be more than happy to #RockHerFilthyWorld? She's wrong.
Her online fantasy is about to collide with her public reality, and it's about to happen... now

Review

**** Indie Inked, via Netgalley, provided me with a complimentary copy of this for an honest review****
Grace Kinsella hides behind the handle @FilthyBlueBird to do what she secretly wishes she could do in person, sling dirty one liners at her movie star god Vaughn Asher, a man as untouchable as he is gorgeous. Things are safe behind a semi anonymous online profile and a hashtag. Until a vacation with her best friends lands her face to face with non other than the real @VaughnAsher. Well, everything's safe as long as he doesn't figure out her secret...
I am so glad I read this one so close to the release of #2 because I was hooked instantly! Fun, sexy and hysterical this novella promises to be a favorite and worth the short wait in between. Vaughn and Grace compliment each other beautifully and I loved seeing the confident man bring her out of her shell. Grace promises to be one of those strong female MCs that you can get behind as we watch her grow. What can I say about Vaughn other than that mouth? Wow, he's delicious and adventurous and we're just starting to delve into him. I have a strong feeling Grace is going to put his world off it's axis. The writing flew by like it was meant to be devoured. There were side characters to add to the story but to be honest I only had eyes for Grace & Vaughn. Give me more! 
 

Post by: 
icon