Thursday, June 19, 2014

Midnight Lies (Wildefire #2)

 Midnight Lies (Wildefire, #2) 
 5 of 5 stars false 
The Wilde sisters of Midnight return in this thrilling novel of romantic suspense, perfect for fans of Maya Banks, Allison Brennan, and Lori Foster.
IT’S ALWAYS HOTTER AT MIDNIGHT.
The winds of fate have blown cruelly on a family that once had it all: money, power, prestige. The lives of three beautiful daughters were forever changed when, on a sultry night in Midnight, Alabama, a murder-suicide shattered the Wilde family. The girls grew up to live separate lives but now have returned home, each to face a danger no one can see coming.
Former homecoming queen Samantha surprised everyone by going into law enforcement, but beneath her tough fa├žade lies a wary heart. The tragedy that struck her family is an ever-present reminder that nothing is ever as it seems. When the man she loves, Quinn Braddock, a doctor and Iraq war veteran, is accused of murder, Samantha assumes the worst. Brokenhearted, her confidence shattered, she returns to Midnight. Though exonerated, Quinn still feels the sting of Samantha’s doubt, but he can’t forget his feelings for her and follows her. Soon after his arrival, a shocking murder terrifies the town, and once again, Quinn is under suspicion. This time, Samantha will not turn her back on the man she loves—even if it means walking into a killer’s trap.

 Review

****Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine via NetGalley provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for my honest review****
The Wilde triplets are back! Everyone was surprised when the flirty former homecoming queen Samantha became a cop, but her parents death is still always in the back of her mind pushing her to find the answers and get some sort of closure that she never really received. Quinn is a hot doctor who is just out of an awful marriage, the two of them burn hot and heavy until Quinns ex-wife turns of dead, and he is the chief suspect. Samanthas history scares her, and while she quickly realizes her mistake Quinn isn't so forgiving, his pain over her first lack of trust leaves him lashing out and her going home to Midnight. Quinn realizes his mistake and months later he comes to Midnight for Samantha, but he already broke her heart once so it's going to take some fast talking and a whole lot of begging for him to get her back, if she is even willing. This is the second book in the Wildefire series you need to read the first book Midnight Secrets to get all the background, or you will be lost on certain important issues. I liked the first book, but I loved this book, it had the perfect blend of romance and suspense that kept me glued to my Kindle. Sam came across as a strong woman who could stand up for herself, but she also has this soft side that needs love and attention. Quinn was self assured and strong in his professional life, but his personal life is something different altogether, his first wife messed him up, and he has trust issues that made him act like a jerk at times. Both of these characters strengths and weaknesses made the characters easy to relate to, and it brought the story to life because they seemed so real. The twists and turns in this book kept me guessing at who the real killer was and whom it was surprised me. I loved this book; it was the perfect addition to the Wildefire series, and I will be stalking NetGalley looking for the next book.
 
 
 
 
Post by:

No comments:

Post a Comment