Sunday, December 23, 2012

Release Me (Stark Trilogy #1) 18+

The following review is for 18+ readers.
Release Me (Stark Trilogy, #1)
3 of 5 stars false

For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms.
He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist.
Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.
Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.
But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.


*****Netgalley provided me with a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review*****

I don't like lumping all these new books that are coming out and are "vogue" at the moment together. But if you are thinking this sound’s a bit 50 Shades or Bared to you like then you would be right. There are many similar themes in this book to the others. However, that does not make this not a worthwhile book to read, it definitely doesn't mean these characters don't deserve a chance.
To begin with I was zooming through this book, it was easy to get into.
 Although suffering from an awful past, Nikki our heroine of this book was a hell of a lot more feisty than most and I was cheering for her to not give in.
Damien, as you would expect, is a billionaire, handsome, controlling, damaged 30ish, never dates, etc and you are not disappointed he is this and more. Of course the difference in this book is that these two aren't new to each other, this is more of a second chance type situation. This was a nice little change and opened up many more believable storylines.
I felt like this book was a little more open, not as many secrets and things fell together fairly easy for the couple. Maybe this is why halfway through this book it started to lull for me, the tension wasn't there. I say for me, because there were still things going on but problems were too easily resolved, for my tastes, so I wasn't as anxious to find out what was going to happen.
All in all this was a great steamy read in this new genre of books and good solid start to a trilogy. If this is your sort of thing I think you will be pleasantly surprised by Release Me.

Post by: